Skip to content

Design Council welcomes new trustees

Design Council welcomes new trustees

12 November 2015 Written by By John Mathers Chief Executive, Design Council, 2012-2016

I am delighted to announce the addition of seven new fantastic trustees to the Design Council board.

Our new trustees include the renowned product and industrial designers Paul Priestman (PriestmanGoode) and Martin Darbyshire (tangerine) alongside respected design educators, professors Anne Boddington (University of Brighton) and Dale Harrow (Royal College of Art). We also welcome built environment visionary Tim Stonor (Space Syntax) alongside public sector expert Kieron Boyle (Cabinet Office) and early-stage technology company mentor and investor, Dr Andrew Mackintosh.

With our new research showing the huge value (£72billion) that design adds to the economy there is no better time to strengthen our board and demonstrate design’s transformative power in boosting productivity and exports, improving places and building skills.

Chair of Design Council, Martin Temple, has welcomed the new members:

I am delighted to welcome these seven new trustees to the board. They will significantly boost the board’s expertise in helping to guide and develop the Design Council’s work supporting business and entrepreneurs, transforming public services, enhancing places and cities and campaigning to raise awareness of the value of design. In challenging economic circumstances the board is helping to shape the Design Council of the future to ensure it continues to evolve and adapt to meet the needs of a rapidly changing world.

Our new trustees bring a fresh perspective to our work in particular our activities  helping entrepreneurs to bring commercial products to market, giving design students a competitive edge through our Design Academy and in supporting local authorities and cities to create better quality, prosperous places.

Professor Anne Boddington, Kieron Boyle, Martin Darbyshire and Tim Stonor joined the board on 10 September 2015. Professor Dale Harrow, Andrew Mackintosh and Paul Priestman will formally join as trustees on 4 February 2016

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to keep up with the latest from the Design Council?

Sign up